

Department of Environmental Quality

Kimberly D. Shelley Interim Executive Director

DIVISION OF WATER QUALITY Erica Brown Gaddis, PhD Director Water Quality Board
Jennifer Grant, Chair
Gregg A. Galecki, Vice Chair
Steven K. Earley
Brandon Gordon
Michael D. Luers
Emily Niehaus
Kimberly D. Shelley
Dr. James VanDerslice
James Webb
Dr. Erica Brown Gaddis
Executive Secretary

State

Lieutenant Governor

We, Ben Holcomb & Alejandra Maldonado, Co-Chairs of the Water Quality and Health Advisory Panel (WQHAP), have determined that the November 3, 2021 meeting of the WQHAP will be held electronically without an anchor location.

This determination is based on the following facts:

- 1. Utah is currently dealing with the COVID-19 pandemic. COVID-19 is extremely contagious and can be deadly to those who contract it, especially those of advanced age and underlying health conditions. As of November 1, 2021, the current ICU bed capacity is 90% occupied.
- 2. The Agency offices are in Salt Lake County, which is currently in the State's high risk category; and agencies are encouraged to use electronic platforms if available.
- 3. The DEQ Boardroom is insufficient to allow social distancing and reasonably safe accommodation of the WQHAP and the public.
- 4. The WQHAP uses an electronic platform which allows interested parties to view the meeting, hear discussions, and provide written comments.

Dated this 3rd day of November 2021.

Ben Holcomb & Alejandra Maldonado, Co-Chairs WQHAP

DWQ-2021-

Printed on 100% recycled paper